TONE DEAF

The following has been written for & inspired by Sadje’s weekly #WDYS prompt (What Do You See). She gave us the photo below (taken by Taylor Heery) as inspiration for writers and poets to produce art.

Credit: Taylor Heery @ Unsplash

#WDYS #129

TONE DEAF

To be honest with you
No matter how pretty the phone
I’m not inclined
To leave a message
After the tone
After your tone-
Deaf response
Last time I called
Seeking your advice
Over an important matter
So, this time I stalled.
Before I spoke
Didn’t think twice
Thank you
I’m not sure for what!
Thank you…
I guess
For not answering
And proving me right.
You didn’t even hear me.
When I sought your help
That should have sufficed
Should have noticed it coming
Should have seen the signs
Our conversations
Are always one sided
You talk
I listen
I talk
You bristle
As if my issues
Are an inconvenience
Our interactions
Become expedient
You’ve become tone deaf
Next time
I won’t be answering
I won’t be swiping left
Don’t leave a message
I don’t need your heft

9 thoughts on “TONE DEAF

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started