THROWBACK THURSDAY POETRY READINGS: PAINTING PICTURES (WITH WORDS)

Hey folks! Welcome back to my regular Throwback Thursday series of Poetry Readings which this week features a spoken word recitation of a poem called Painting Pictures with Words. I wrote it for my first poetry book: SNOWSTORM OF DOUBT AND GRACE. I’ve added the written version of it underneath so you can read along with the recording. Hope you enjoy reading and listening to it! 🙏🤞

PAINTING PICTURES (WITH WORDS)

Paint me a smile to end this drought

Give me something to laugh about

Instead of the sadness which has long

Invaded me, time for this song

To take a different route than the rest

You’ve forgiven and I’ve confessed

By painting pictures with words.

Paint me a smile so I can start afresh

With a blank canvas so I can mesh

Past experiences & new beginnings

With the sound of angels singing

Over my new found lyrical salvation

Aided by heavenly inspiration

To paint some pictures with words

Paint me a smile with these two feet

With something melodious so I can complete

This life which you have given me

Dancing just to know that I am free

But in case I happen to trip and fall

Help me not to forget my call

To keep painting pictures with words.

Paint me a smile with a paper & pen

Give me some words so I can tend

To the walking wounded & broken hearts

With uni-stained words of comfort from my cart

Of vocabulary learnt in the school of hard knocks

Time to roll up my sleeves & pull up my socks

And paint some pictures with words

Paint me a smile & I’ll give them a song

Give me a tube & they can sing along

Something that will help ease their pain

And keep ’em from slowly going insane

A felony that you will never let

A melody that won’t let them forget

Those pictures I painted with words.

14 thoughts on “THROWBACK THURSDAY POETRY READINGS: PAINTING PICTURES (WITH WORDS)

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started